Michael Jamieson



Michael started playing saxophone at age 14. He studied at Victoria University (Bachelor of Music) and Massey University (Honours, 1st class) with Deborah Rawson. He received a Massey University Cultural Award, a grant from Creative NZ, and the prestigious Patricia Pratt Music Scholarship, enabling him to undertake Masters study with Johan van der Linden at the Messiaen Academie in the Netherlands.


During his study at the Messiaen Academie, Michael also received lessons from Arno Bornkamp, Niels Bijl and Willem van Merwijk from the Aurelia Saxophone Quartet. He undertook a 3 month exchange to the Conservatoire National de Région, Strasbourg, France, where he studied with Phillippe Geiss. While in France, Michael participated in masterclasses and perfomances with Etienne Rolin, Elipsos Saxophone Quartet and Jean-Marie Londeix. Michael also took lessons from Claude Delangle, Christian Wirth, Vincent David and Philippe Bracquart at the French Saxophone Summer School at Gap.


Michael is in demand as an orchestral and chamber saxophonist, working regularly with groups such as the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, Auckland Philharmonia, Rotterdam Philharmonic, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Radio Chamber Orchestra (NL) and Netherlands Symphony Orchestra. He is the soprano saxophonist and founding member of the Hanumi Saxophone Quartet, and member of the Four Baritones and Rata Trio. Michael is the tenor saxophonist for the Royal New Zealand Navy Band.


Michael teaches classical saxophone performance at Auckland University School of Music, and is a D’Addario Woodwinds (RICO Reeds) and Selmer-Paris (saxophones and mouthpieces) performing artist.



…Amid the stunning sensory overload of full orchestra, choir, screen show, light show and assorted cybermen, daleks and other monsters patrolling the aisles, there was a featured solo by Taranaki’s own Michael Jamieson, and it was magic. This guy gets a sound unlike any other I have heard from a saxophone…”

Anne Bovett, Taranaki Midweek 5 March 2014 (NZSO – Doctor Who Symphonic Spectacular)